Moldovan parliament rules to set migration checkpoints on left bank of Dniester

The parliament has passed a law providing for the setting of migration checkpoints on the left bank of Dniester in two readings.

Under the parliament’s decision, the six points are to serve for registering foreign citizens entering Moldova through the Transnistrian segment. This law will not apply to the Transnistrian residents, including those without identity cards.

The decision was adopted with the votes the MPs of the ruling coalition and the Liberals. The law is part of the action plan on visa liberalisation with the European Union.

The six offices were set in Hagimus – Causeni district, Hirbovat – Anenii Noi district, Sanatauca - Floresti district, and the cities of Dubasari, Criuleni and Rezina.

Adapted from Moldpres