Serzh Sargsyan becomes Armenian President officially

Head of the Central Electoral Commission of Armenia has published final results of the presidential polls. Serzh Sargsyan got 861,373 votes (58.64%), followed by Raffi Ovannisyan, leader of the Heritage Party with 36.74%, News Armenia reports.

Grant Bagratyan, former PM, currently leader of the Freedom Party and an MP, Paruyr Ayrikyan, leader of the Union for National Self-Determination, Arman Melikyan, former Foreign Minister of Nagorno-Karabakh, political analyst Andrias Gukasyan and epos researcher Vardan Sedrakyan got less than 5% of votes.

60.18% of the population, or 1.521 million people, voted.

7,000 observers from 26 local and 12 international organizations, including OSCE ODIHR, OSCE PA, PACE, CIS PA and others, monitored the polls. They say that the elections meet international standards, although violations were registered.

Gagik Tsarukyan, leader of Prosperous Armenia, supports Ovannisyan’s attempts to appeal the election results.

Adapted from: Vestnik Kavkaza