Armenia votes for president

On February 2013, 1988 polling stations opened for the presidential in Armenia at 8.00 am today. 7 candidates are running for president: President Serzh Sargsyan, former PM and leader of the Freedom Party Grant Bagratyan, former Foreign Minister and leader of the Heritage Party Raffi Ovannisyan, leader of the National Self-Determination Union Paruyr Ayrikyan, former Foreign Minister of Nagorno-Karabakh Arman Melikyan, a political analyst of Radio Hay Andreas Gukasyan and a researcher of epos Vardan, News Armenia reports.

According to data of February 8, Armenia had 2,505,882 voters. 6883 people will monitor the elections. 6251 of them come from local public organizations and 632 from 12 international organizations, including the OSCE ODIHR, CIS, OSCE PA, CE PA, CIS Inter-parliamentary Assembly, ICES and IFES.

Voting will continue until 8.00 pm. Press secretary of the Central Electoral Commission Ermine Arutyunyan, the CEC media center will operate non-stop. Briefing will be organized at 9.00 am – 9.00 pm.

Vote results will be announced no later than at 8.00 pm on February 19. Final results will be published in seven days.

Should no candidate get over half of votes, the country will have the second round of vote in 14 days with two candidates running for president.

Adapted from: Vestnik Kavkaza